Carl Henning

Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library

Rutherford B. Hayes was, of course, the 19th president of the US, serving from 1877 to 1881. He had promised to serve only one term. He had been an officer in the Union army and was wounded five times. He was finally confirmed three days before the inauguration in The Compromise of 1877. The compromise probably ruined the opportunities for Southern blacks. Hayes was one of eight presidents elected from Ohio, “The Mother of Presidents.”

We learned this and more at the very first presidential library, Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.